Barrow High School Alumni Scholarship

This annual scholarship is made to Barrow High School seniors graduating each spring semester.  The program is made possible from donations from supporters of Barrow High School, including BHS Alumni, educators, administrators, and family and friends of BHS.

The purpose of this competitive scholarship program is to provide academic scholarships to deserving BHS seniors graduating with the intent of continuing their studies at a post-secondary educational institution. Scholarship awards ranging from $1,000 to $1,500 will be awarded to the applicants that best meet the criteria identified by the Leadership Barrow Scholarship Committee. 

Selection Criteria: 

         1. Applicant must be a Barrow High School senior graduating in the spring of 2023. 

         2. Applicant must intend to continue their studies at an accredited post-secondary educational institution. 

         3. Applicant should demonstrate strong academic performance, leadership within school and community, and intent to
             contribute to Utqiagvik, the North Slope, and/or Alaska in the future. 

Past Scholarship Recipients

Brooke Singson, University of Alaska at Anchorage

Maria Bea Ortilla, California State University, San Marcos
Juliana Osgood, Norwich University

Edith Spear, University of Alaska at Fairbanks

Calvin Miller, University of Alaska at Anchorage

Yi Chan, University of Alaska at Anchorage
Gregory Kienholz, Western Washington University
Janessa Vinas, University of Alaska at Anchorage

Kevin Goodwin, University of Alaska at Anchorage
Angelica Telfair, Eastern Washington University 

Sione Tua'i, Montana Technical University
Pavel Hernandez, Brigham Young University

Stephanie Nelson, University of Alaska at Anchorage

Alaina Bankston, University of Alaska at Fairbanks
Chanachai Charoonsophonsak, University of Alaska at Anchorage

Eddie Benson, Gonzaga University
Jannel Bianca David, University of Alaska at Fairbanks
Jalene Kanayurak, University of New England

Tiana Elkins, University of Alaska at Fairbanks
Heather Hopson, University of Alaska at Fairbanks
Harley Oleson, University of Alaska at Anchorage

Home            Scholarship Program            Contact Us